Home > NCAA Tournament > College Hockey Guaranteed to Have a First Time National Champion

College Hockey Guaranteed to Have a First Time National Champion

The Union Dutchmen just defeated defending national champion Boston College 5-1 behind two goals from Josh Jooris. That result was significant not just in the fact that we will have a new national champion this year, but we will also have a first time national champion.

The six teams remaining (Union, Quinnipiac, Miami, St. Cloud State, Yale, UMass-Lowell) have never won a national championship. Even more remarkably, coming into the tournament the six teams had a combined 16 tournament wins, 7 of them belonging to Miami.
Even as a fan of an established program, adding another team to the list of national champions is only good news for college hockey. Miami is the most established power of the group, having made the title game in 2009 and the Frozen Four in 2010, and Union is off to their second Frozen Four in a row, but the rest of the schools have relatively little success, recent or otherwise, to speak of.
No matter what happens, some program is going to get a taste of what Boston College, Wisconsin, Denver, etc. have felt in recent years, and no matter who wins college hockey as a whole will be a big winner as well.
Categories: NCAA Tournament

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,102 other followers

%d bloggers like this: